Не забудьте про мобильное приложение — с ним бродить по городу гораздо интереснее.
"The House on the Embankment"
A special place in the architecture of Moscow occupies the 1st House of People's Commissars and the Central Executive Committee - the famous "House on the Embankment". It is located directly opposite the Kremlin as a symbol of the grim pre-war era and was the "main character" of the novel by Yuri Trifonov. This house was a unique complex. 505 apartments, with the latest equipment for those years, were populated by a new Soviet elite - generals, people's commissars, cultural figures.
The apartments were official and many of them changed tenants more than once, usually not according to their own will. Their uneasy fate is dedicated to the memorial museum, housed in apartment number 1. A whole system of serving the residents was built: a large auditorium-club for 1200 people, a gym and indoor tennis courts, a cinema, a distribution store, an outpatient clinic, a post office, a day nursery, a kindergarten, a solarium, a library, a dining room, laundry.
The architecture of this complex designed by Boris Iofan involving his elder brother Dmitri was the anticipation of the monumental style of the mid-1930s, despite the fact that it designed and built during the time when functionality and simplicity were fashionable.
Architects wanted to fill not only the entire solid plot without a trace, but also to create a monumental volume. Sections of different height (up to 11 floors) form a system of courtyards. Unique architectural expression of the "House on the Embankment" based on a combination of similar residential sections with a complex general silhouette of buildings surrounding courtyards. The symmetry of the river facade makes it more significant than the others, and the long eastern facade closes the ensemble of the Bolotnaya Square and makes out the passage from the Great Stone Bridge to the south of the capital.
Attached to the south of the cinema "Udarnik" (the best worker, overachieving plans) was opened in the same 1931 that the house was inhabited.
"Udarnik" was the first movie theater, created specifically for sound film. Therefore, for several decades, he wore an unofficial title of the country's main cinema.
Когда вместо деревянных лавок построили двухэтажные каменные лавки, образовавшие три квартала: Верхние, Средние и Нижние торговые ряды, Площадь стали называть Красной, то есть красивой (некоторые историки полагают, что название произошло от «красного», то есть галантерейного, товара, которым здесь торговали).
Дом МОССЕЛЬПРОМаКалашный пер., 2/10
Этот семиэтажный угловой дом с башней и простыми штукатурными фасадами привлекает внимание цветовыми акцентами в простенках окон и балконов, а также вертикальными надписями рубленым шрифтом. Изначально это был один из типичных для начала века доходных домов.