RU

Do not forget to use our mobile app. It will make your journey around the city way more interesting.

Mid-19th Century Estate. Main House

Verkhny Predtechensky Lane, 8, bld. 1
(no votes)
The books from the house owner's library still can be found at antiquity auctions; the books bear their owner's seal: "Ivan Nikolaevich Tsvetukhin, Presnya, near the John the Baptist Church, own house, Moscow".
  • Mid-19th Century Estate. Main House
+ -

In the maze of the Presnya lanes on the Three Mountains, one can feel the atmosphere and ambience of the old Moscow with its leisurely pace of life and human scaled buildings. Here, you can see small cozy mansions and even whole estates that survived to our days — not intact, of course, but having undergone numerous reconstructions. One of such estates is the property at No. 8 on the winding Verkhny Predtechinsky Lane.

According to the Uniform State Register of Cultural Heritage of Russia, this city estate is a heritage of federal significance. This status was granted to the estate by the Decree of the President of Russia Boris Yeltsin in February, 1995. Until that time, since 1992, the estate was a monument of local significance as was decided by the Presidium of the Moscow City Council.

The estate comprises the Main House (building 1) and two service outbuildings (buildings 3 and 4). Building 2 adjacent to the Main House was constructed in 1927 and is not recognized as a heritage site.

The Register documents date the Main House of the Estate to the mid 19th century. Its most famous owner was Ivan N. Tsvetukhin (1838–1899), a full state councillor buried on the Vagankovskoe Cemetery. It is amazing that books from his library still can be found at antiquity auctions; the books bear their owner's seal: "Ivan Nikolaevich Tsvetukhin, Presnya, near the John the Baptist Church, own house, Moscow." Tsvetukhin owned the estate in the Verkhny Predtechinsky Lane from 1870 to 1899 and it was in that period that the estate became what it looks today.

Other owners are also known: Yekaterina Bystroglazova, wife of artillery Colonel Nikanor Bystroglazov (1850 to 1860); after I.N. Tsvetukhin's death, his widow Maria Alexandrovna took the property over (1900 to 1906). After her, up to 1917, Dmitry Kuzmin was recorded as the estate owner.

The house underwent numerous reconstructions and modifications according to current trends in architecture: in 1860s, in 1874, in 1880s. But even now, despite its Baroquesque decor made in the eclecticism period, we can clearly see the house's layout typical for the times of classicism. The lower floor is low, it is virtually a semi basement; the upper one — with living and formal rooms — has tall windows. Pilasters accentuate the central part of the facade with three windows. To the left side of the symmetrical facade with seven windows there is an entry porch. Above the final cornice is a curvilinear attic with an ogee shaped top.

In 2009, the house underwent a major reconstruction that included recovering its main facade's historical appearance.

Nowadays, it is occupied by a medical institution.

Konstantin Mikhailov

Interesting

Houses
Moscow university observatory

Moscow university observatory

5 Novovagankovsky Lane

Truly a wonderful world is located behind the tatty wooden fence in a quiet side street. It is a complex of buildings of Moscow's oldest surviving observatory.

(no votes)
Houses
Laundry Building, the Narkomfin Residential Compound

Laundry Building, the Narkomfin Residential Compound

Novinsky Boulevard, 25-27, bld.1

The experimental compound represented the implemented idea of a fundamentally new type of residence with a utility unit that was to promote a new life style. According to the architects' design, the service building housed the first mechanical laundry in Moscow.

3.3
Houses
The Planetarium

The Planetarium

Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya Street, 5

Moscow Planetarium is one of the most significant and innovative buildings of constructivism style.

3.3
Houses
The Church of St. Nicholas of Myra on the Three Hills

The Church of St. Nicholas of Myra on the Three Hills

9/1 Novovagankovsky Lane

Alexander Valiyevich Alexandrov was one of the regents of the temple. As a coincidence he was also the author of the Soviet national anthem

(no votes)
Houses
Laundry Building, the Narkomfin Residential Compound

Laundry Building, the Narkomfin Residential Compound

25-27/1, Novinsky Boulevard

The experimental compound represented the implemented idea of a fundamentally new type of residence with a utility unit that was to promote a new life style. According to the architects' design, the service building housed the first mechanical laundry in Moscow.

(no votes)
Monuments
F.I. Shalyapin

F.I. Shalyapin

Novinsky Boulevard, 25

Installed near the house of the singer.

3.48
Places
Presnensky

Presnensky

Presnia often called cradle of the revolution Presnensky district - an area in Moscow, located in the Central Administrative District.

(no votes)
Houses
"Ukraine" hotel

"Ukraine" hotel

2/1/1 Kutuzovsky prospect

This is the second highest “skyscraper” that  was built in 1957. When Stalin was alive it should have been called simply "Dorogomilovskaya."

3.3
Houses
The Roman Catholic church of Immaculate Conception in the Georgians

The Roman Catholic church of Immaculate Conception in the Georgians

27/ 13, p 1 Malaya Gruzinskaya Street

This is the largest Catholic church in the territory of Russia, ones occupied by the Research Institute, and the hostel...

(no votes)
Monuments
Monument of the Student, killed in the War

Monument of the Student, killed in the War

5 Nikolaev street, the area of the school number 87

Chapel with a gilded dome and names ..

(no votes)

Открыть в приложении
Скачать
close

Истории знаменитых и примечательных московских домов, рассказанные краеведами и простыми горожанами. Для поиска интересных мест Москвы используйте фильтры, сортировку и карту.

Усадьба середины XIX века. Главный дом

Усадьба середины XIX века. Главный дом

ЦАО, Предтеченский Верхн. пер., дом 8, строение 1
На антикварных аукционах до сих пор продаются книги из библиотеки владельца дома, отмеченные печатью с текстом: «Иван Николаевич Цветухин, Пресня, близ цер. Иоанна Предтечи, свой дом, Москва».
star-icon
3.1
audioGuideОткрыть аудиогид
Вы можете воспользоваться QR-кодом, чтобы открыть эту страницу в нашем приложении
объект культурного наследия федерального значения
Архитектурный стиль:
Эклектика
Назначение постройки
Городская усадьба

Информация о здании

В пресненских переулочках на Трех Горах сохраняется еще колорит и атмосфера Старой Москвы с ее неспешным ритмом жизни и сомасштабной человеку застройкой. Здесь встречаются небольшие уютные особняки и целые городские усадьбы, дошедшие до наших дней, конечно, не без потерь, но пережившие многочисленные реконструкции. Среди них – усадьба в домовладении № 8 в извилистом Верхнем Предтеченском переулке.

Согласно Единому государственному реестру объектов культурного наследия России, городская усадьба по этому адресу – ансамбль федерального значения. Этот статус присвоен ей Указом Президента РФ Б.Н.Ельцина в феврале 1995 года. А памятником местного значения усадьба числилась с 1992 года, по решению Президиума Моссовета.

В состав ансамбля входят Главный дом (строение 1) и два служебных флигеля (строения 3 и 4). Примыкающее к Главному дому слева строение 2 сооружено в 1927 году и памятником не считается.      

В реестровых документах главный усадебный дом датируется серединой XIX века. Самый известный его владелец – Иван Николаевич Цветухин (1838–1899 гг.), действительный статский советник, похороненный на Ваганьковском кладбище. Удивительно, но на антикварных аукционах до сих пор продаются книги из его личной библиотеки, отмеченные владельческой печатью: «Иван Николаевич Цветухин, Пресня, близ цер. Иоанна Предтечи, свой дом, Москва». Цветухин владел усадьбой в Верхнем Предтеченском переулке в 1870–1899 гг., и свой нынешний облик она обрела именно при нем.

Известны и другие владельцы: Екатерина Быстроглазова, жена артиллерийского полковника Никанора Быстроглазова (с 1850 по 1860 год); после смерти И.Н.Цветухина хозяйкой усадьбы становится его вдова Мария Александровна (с 1900 по 1906 год). Затем, до 1917 года, владельцем усадьбы числится Дмитрий Кузьмин.

Дом не раз перестраивался и менял внешность согласно архитектурной моде: в 1860-х гг., в 1874-м, в 1880-е годы. Но даже сейчас, несмотря на псевдобарочный декор эпохи эклектики, отчетливо просматривается характерная для времен классицизма компоновка дома. Нижний этаж – низкий, практически цокольный, а верхний – парадный, жилой, с высокими окнами. Пилястры выделяют центральную часть фасада с тремя окнами. К симметричному фасаду в семь оконных осей примыкает слева входное крыльцо. Над венчающим карнизом расположен фигурный аттик с килевидным завершением.

Дом пережил в 2009 году капитальную реконструкцию с восстановлением исторического вида главного фасада.

Сейчас здесь находится медицинское учреждение.

Константин Михайлов
Автор статьи

Распечатать статью

Интересное рядом (6)

Новоарбатский мост
icon
Новоарбатский мост (Калининский мост) — автодорожный мост через Москву-реку в Москве. Соединяет Западный административный округ (Кутузовский проспект) и Центральный (Новый Арбат). Один из первых мостов в России с цельносварным сталежелезобетонным пролетным строением и обжатой высокопрочной арматурой плитой проезжей части.
Московский зоопарк
icon
Первый зверинец существовал на Пресне еще в XVII веке.
Б. Грузинская ул., 1
БаррикаднаяКраснопресненская
5
Библиотека №3 имени Н.А. Добролюбова - дом архитектора И.В. Жолтовского - предложено не в тот раздел
icon
Старейшая публичная библиотека Москвы, с 1919 года носящая имя Николая Александровича Добролюбова, ведет свою историю с 1848 года.
Музей истории зоопарка
icon
г. Москва, ул. Большая Грузинская, д.1, стр.17
Краснопресненская
Московский зоопарк
icon
г. Москва, ул. Грузинская Б., д. 1
БаррикаднаяКраснопресненская
Музей-мастерская Зураба Церетели
icon
ул. Большая Грузинская, д. 15, стр. 1
БаррикаднаяКраснопресненская